Young, Black, Visionary: MK

I’ve decided to start a new series on my blog spotlighting young black moguls I think we should all celebrate and support.

This week I’m highlighting Mansur, a junior film major, photography minor at Howard University. He’s already completed and released his first short film, Same Fruit, Different Tree, a film on police brutality and its affects on black youth. The piece has been accepted into 17 film festivals. He also recently wrapped his second film, Raising Jaden, in October.

1. What made you get into film?

Star Wars is ultimately what got me into film. I remember being sat down in front of the TV around 6 or 7 and my dad saying that we “had to watch this movie” and that “it was a classic”. It was just a little me and my siblings sitting in front of the TV in Berkeley, California while my Nana cooked popcorn. My dad slid in the VCR tape and the yellow text scroll started rolling across. I was hooked. After the movie was over I told myself that I wanted to be the one to bring that kind of vision to a big screen.

2. What’s the best/your favorite thing you’ve worked on?

My favorite thing I’ve worked on, although i haven’t done many projects, would probably have to be my most recent short film that we wrapped in October. Everything just kind of fell into place whether it was the actors or the locations. Everyone was super supportive of the message of the film and the creative direction we were going in. I can’t wait to get to editing and start sending it to film festivals. On top of that, I was working with a fantastic crew that was diligent and on top of everything despite it being a few of them’s first time on a set. I loved this the most because I’ve been honing in on my craft for such a long time that it’s always fun to have the chance to pass on that knowledge, experience and creativity  to other people. That was probably the most fun, teaching my crew while we worked together to make magic happen.

3. Who inspires you?

My family, my friends and the world around me truly inspire me to do film. I am an observer, a watcher of behavior, a seeker of understanding and through this it inspires me to make my film. My filming style is very gritty, truthful, and tends to focus on various aspects of the African American experience. Mothers and women inspire me the most as their resilience, which is not often documented, is powerful and their actions inspire the heroism of my characters. Other movies are also a large inspiration for me as I look to make those works better, reinvent them from scratch or pull various angles, set ups and storylines from them.

4. Tell me more about your most recent project.

Raising Jaden follows the story of a 14/15 year old openly gay African American young man as he struggle through dealing with his stressed out mother. Along the way he meets someone he can’t fall in love with in the search to find his father and understand who he is.

Mansur even provided me with some exclusive stills from Raising Jaden.

You can check out stills from his first short, Same Fruit, Different Tree here:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Check out MK’s official website here and follow him on Instagram, @officially_mk.

24 Comments Add yours

  1. Marie Torro says:

    Mansur is very inspiring. Making films is very exciting, and I am glad that he gets to do what he loves!

    http://www.thebookblvd.net

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Samary says:

    I love this! Highlighting youth!

    Like

  3. Boujeeratchademic says:

    This is great! I love that you’re showcasing talent like this. He has great things in his future, wow

    Liked by 1 person

  4. xocrystalnicole says:

    Showcasing talent that is otherwise unseen is so great! Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thehyppomyselfthecat says:

    The short movie sounds very interesting and this interview is great. I like to see successful young people working hard on something so important!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Cia Black says:

    IT’s always inspiring to hear of young people using their talents in a positive light. ANd in this case casting a light on topics that many shy away from.

    Like

  7. Nicole Ellis says:

    Really love your blog post uplifting youth and their talent. I’ll be on the lookout for Mansur’s continued progress!

    Like

  8. Preet@thevelvetlife says:

    It is so nice to know more about Mansur. I am glad he is following his passion, the short film sounds interesting, I will check it out.

    Like

    1. Syd says:

      You definitely should that first hyperlink should take you to it!

      Like

  9. Wow! He is really amazing! I’m so glad that I’ve heard about him. He’s very inspiring and good for him that he follow what he loves and his passion.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Corinne and Kirsty says:

    This new series is great and really inspiring. It is great to read other’s stories, even more so when they are making an impact. Making films must be so interesting and challenging!

    Like

  11. Shub B says:

    Such a great and inspiring young man Mansur.Glad to know that he loves what he’s doing and following his passion. The short film sounds interesting and will check this out.

    Like

  12. Words of a Texas Nerd says:

    I think this is quite inspirational to young talent! Great highlight for sure.

    Like

  13. What an inspiring post! It’s great that you’ve started such a series on your blog 😉

    Like

  14. helene dsouza says:

    This is very nice of you ! I really appreciate your efforts in really uplifting the talents of the youth !

    Like

  15. I love reading about people succeeding and reaching their dreams. It takes a lot of dedication and persistence and to see that come true for youngsters makes me smile.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Maria says:

    it’s so hard to truly find something you are passionate about, and better yet, to be able to do it. Especially when it comes to producing independent short films.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. It is really great to see you supporting new talents..this is really inspiring to read…

    Like

  18. This is a really cool idea, the film sounds really good. Can’t wait to read more.

    Like

  19. Ana Vukosavljevic says:

    Making films is so hard and inspiring. I always wonder how people get so much inspiration through the whole process to make it. I’m really looking forward to these series!

    Like

  20. kimmieklewis says:

    thanks for sharing your journey! I love to hear what moves people and their passions.

    Like

  21. Taylor Smart says:

    i will defo need to find this and give it a watch! As an ex film student i always found the short independent films the best!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Indu says:

    A bright mind already tasting success in filming career. Loved reading about him.

    Like

  23. I love supporting young black creatives. Keep doing what you’re doing. Amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment