Maybelline Fit Me Dewy & Smooth Review ft. Master Prime

It’s finally March! Which means it is almost time for me to say goodbye to my beloved matte look and go back to my first true love, dewy foundations. Being a Florida girl through and through a dewy skin like finish my favorite because it fits the weather and doesn’t have me looking too made up in the warm months. Luckily, Maybelline sent me a new foundation to try out just in time for the summer, the Fit Me Dewy Smooth finish.

Shade

I want to get this out of the way first, I am not a fan of the shade I received. I got soft honey, and it’s just on the pale side. It’s not awful I just know that by the time April hits this will not be my shade, which is why I try to consider that when i buy foundations. It’s almost too light even without a tan. But, that’s honestly just a flaw of using picture to shade match rather than being able to swatch.

Primer

This product came with a primer, and I love it. It has a gel like consistency but its not too thick and it feels great on the skin I would actually like to try it with some of my other foundations.

Application & Finish

This applies better with a sponge than with a brush, it kind of looks streaky with a brush. I used a Real Techniques sponge and the finish looked gorgeous. It isn’t as dewy as I usually wear but it looks like skin.

Wear

It lasted okay, I am not the best at judging this because I’m not the type to need my makeup to stay in place from morning to night.

Final Thoughts

I am not in total love, but for $7.99 its worth a try. The shade probably has me a little biased to the rest of the product anyway. It looks great on, the finish is gorgeous, and it’s affordable which is a win for me. However, I honestly think the primer is a must try.

Have you tried this product? If not what’s your favorite drug store foundation?

Beauty GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

 

**I got these products free for review but all opinions expressed are my own.

24 Comments Add yours

  1. J says:

    The Maybelline Fit Me Matte foundation has been a favorite of mine for some time now and it remains a classic in my makeup bag. For some reason for me I am not a fan of the Dewy look as an oily girl myself. Primer is honestly something I haven’t even thought about but if you say its a must try then why not?! Thanks for your recommendations!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Syd says:

      Thanks for sharing, they have a ton of primers with different purposes you should check it out!

      Like

  2. msmechie says:

    I’m real particular about my shades looking like my natural skin without having to pair two foundations so that would throw me off too. Seems like it’s worth a try maybe use it as a concealer or to contour?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Syd says:

      I think since it’s a dewy finish its better as a foundation but I will say I picked my shade online so there is a good shade range I just played myself lol

      Like

  3. I use this foundation from time to time, I agree with everything you said!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the matte one. I am a foundation junky so I’m always looking for new ones to try. The matte one is my favorites drug store foundation at the moment. I also want to try to new full coverage one.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love the Matte n Poreless one by Maybelline. I actually love the primer too. I’m in the shade 355 Coconut. I think I want to try the new full coverage foundation. Thanks for sharing this, I may have to give the dewy one a try. I was always scared because of my oily skin.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ve been hearing good things about Fitme. Personally, I use Black Radiance’s BB Cream.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Syd says:

      Ooh I may have to try that next!

      Like

  7. Nelly B. says:

    I’m too scared to try the dewy, i think i may end up looking super oily. I have tried the matte version and i love it… will look into that primer

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Love a dewy look too, I’m more on the drier side so I find that finish gives me a glow where sometimes matte can make me look extra dry! For the price, it’s hard not to give this one a try! It’s good to have a reasonably priced foundation in our collection to avoid using the pricier ones all the time, ya know what I mean haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Syd says:

      Same here!

      Like

  9. zerimama says:

    Have you tried the cushion one?? I just got one from dior for $50 then tried Maybelline and it’s 100000x better!

    Like

    1. Syd says:

      I didn’t even know they had one! I need to get it…

      Like

      1. zerimama says:

        If you do and review it, I would love to know an experts opinion! I am not even close to knowing anything about makeup…I just wanted something I could do fast in the car otherwise my kids get into it lol. Great post!!

        Like

  10. Shauna says:

    I’ve had my eye on the Master Primer for a while so I MAY give it a chance. On another note, the Maybelline Super Stay foundation is fab!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Corretta says:

    Great review! I am always hesitant to try foundation at the drugstore since you can’t really try it before you buy. That primer sound like it would be a great fun for me especially since I am running out as we speak!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Honey maybe I need to pay more attention and switch foundations as well or as a whole.. my face is very oily WITH makeup on regardless.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Oh and I too, use fit me foundation . I’m coconut 355 😘

    Liked by 1 person

  14. mssparkleandglow says:

    I have never tried the dewy one, i always use the fit me, the primer sounds quite interesting.
    mssparkleandglow.com

    Liked by 1 person

  15. the matte version of this foundation is one of my favorite drug store foundations. i’ve always been kind of curious about the dewy one because even though i’m more oily than dry, i don’t always want to have a matte finish when it comes to foundations. this definitely has me curious again because you said it’s not super dewy. i’ve also never tried their primer before, but now i am definitely interested in checking that out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Syd says:

      You should! It’s not one of those wet dewy foundations it feels great on honestly

      Like

  16. I love that they’re always expanding this line. The Maybelline Matte foundation has been my go to drug store foundation for a while. I’ll have to try it with the primer.

    Like

  17. naturaleeashlee says:

    I actually really love Fit Me! The coverage is great and so is the price. It blends really well with my skin tone.

    Like

Leave a comment